

# **Annual Awards Nomination Form**

Please help us recognize the leaders in our community who protect and extend our civil rights and civil liberties by nominating deserving individuals, groups, firms, or organizations. We will present the awards at our annual event on Thursday, September 29, 2022. **The deadline for submissions is Friday, May 13th.** 

Below are the awards that are available for nomination. You do not have to nominate in every category – simply pick the award that best matches the person, group, firm(s), or organization(s) that you think should be honored. Descriptions of the awards and previous honorees are listed below. There will not be an honoree in every single category.

Nomination for:  Carle Whitehead Memorial Award Ralph L. Carr Award Edward Sherman Award	Martha Radetsky Award Larry Tajiri Media Award	
Nominee: Name(s):	Pronouns:	
Organization(s):		
Address(es):		
	State: Zip(s):	
Phone(s):		
Email(s):		
Nominator: Name:	Pronouns:	_
Organization:		
Address:		
City:	State: Zip:	
Phone:		_
Email:		_
rights and civil liberties? How have Colorada	ader? How has the nominee helped to protect or defend ones benefited, and how do they continue to benefit, from the above and beyond the call of duty to protect civil rights at all or resources	:he

## Submit your nomination by Friday, May 13th in one of the following ways:

- Scan and email to <u>development@aclu-co.org</u>.
- Complete the online nomination survey at: https://action.aclu.org/webform/co-borenominations2021
- Mail to: ACLU of Colorado, Attn: Dev. Dept., 303 E 17th Avenue, Suite 350, Denver, CO 80203.

# **Carle Whitehead Memorial Award**

Carle Whitehead, an attorney and tireless worker in the cause of civil liberties, helped found the ACLU of Colorado in 1952. In 1954, he was presented with a plaque by friends upon which was engraved, "From the American Civil Liberties Union to Carle Whitehead in recognition for 50 years of unswerving devotion to the cause of human justice." Beneath that was a thought from Justice Learned Hand: "While Liberty lies in the hearts of men, it needs no constitutions, no law, no courts to save it." Since 1955, the Carle Whitehead Memorial Award has been awarded by the ACLU Foundation to Coloradans whose lives reflect the philosophy of its first recipient.

	μ		,
1954	Carle Whitehead	1992	U.S. Senator Tim Wirth
	Theodore J. Clark		Jean E. Dubofsky
	Dean Paul Roberts		Senator Penfield Tate
	Palmer Hoyt		Joyce Meskis
	Robert Allen		Mayor Wellington Webb
1959	Representative George Brown		Tim Gill
1960	U.S. Congressman Byron Johnson		U.S. Congressman David Skaggs
1961	Roscoe Fleming		Sylvia M. Clark
1962	Quigg Newton		Bill Hosakowa
1963	Harold V. Knight		Jerome Page
1964	Sam Menin		50th Anniversary Celebration
1965	Mary McLucas		Jaren Ducker
	Houston Waring		Ellen Anderman & Jim Donaldson
1967	Edward H. Sherman		Wilma M. Taylor
	William F. Reynard		Rev. Dr. James D. Peters, Jr.
	Gene Cervi		Jonathan D. Asher
	Dr. Dane Prugh	2008	Lucía Guzmán
	Judge Ted Rubin	2009	U.S. Representative Diana DeGette
	Magdelano Avila		Scott Barker, Bill Murane, Trip Mackintosh
	William Roger Nelson		& Jon Bender - John Holland, Anna Holland-
	Richard Henry		Edwards & Erica Grossman of the Law
1975	Katherine Schomp		Offices of John Holland - Darold Killmer,
1976	Edwin S. Kahn		Mari Newman & David Lane of Killmer,
1977	Barbara Coopersmith		Lane & Newman, LLP
1978	James Reynolds	2011	State Senator Pat Steadman
1979	Father Jose Lara	2012	Mark Silverstein (Staff Leader of the
1980	Senator Regis F. Groff		Decade) and Rehan Hasan (Volunteer
1981	U.S. Congresswoman Patricia Schroeder		Leader of the Decade)
1982	Dr. Doris Webster Havice	2013	Claire Levy
1983	(No Dinner Held)	2014	Dr. Vincent Harding
1984	Minoru Yasui	2015	Senator Mark Udall
1985	Rachel Noel and Martha Radetsky	2016	John Parvensky
1986	Jim Oleson	2017	Harold Fields
1987	Gwen Thomas	2018	Amy Robertson and Tim Fox
1988	Walter Rosenberry, III	2019	Carrie Ann Lucas
1989	(No Dinner Held)	2020	Rev. Dr. Timothy Tyler & Dr. Nita Mosby
1990	Walter Gerash		Tyler
1991	Rabbi Steven Foster	2021	Sharletta C. Evans

#### Ralph L. Carr Award

The Carr Award recognizes an individual, firm, group, or organization that has devoted significant time and resources to an important contemporary issue. Former governor of Colorado, Ralph L. Carr stood against the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II.

2006	Lisa Duran	2016	Senator Jessie Ulibarri
2008	Representative Alice Madden and Senator	2017	Rocky Mountain Immigrant Advocacy Network
	Jennifer Veiga		(RMIAN)
2011	State Senator Morgan Carroll	2018	Alex Landau
2013	Kevin Williams	2019	The Honorable Joseph A. Salazar
2015	Nita Gonzales	2020	Casa de Paz

#### **Edward Sherman Award**

The Edward Sherman Award is not awarded annually, but rather at times when the ACLU of Colorado finds it appropriate to recognize outstanding legal work on behalf of furthering civil liberties in Colorado. The Sherman Award is presented to attorneys who exhibit the same belief in justice for all and who, like Eddie Sherman, have shown spirit and heart in their generous gifts of time and talent to the work of the ACLU of Colorado.

1990	Judd Golden	2009	Christopher P. Beall and Steven D.
1995	David H. Miller		Zansberg
1997	Alan Chen and Roberto Corrada	2011	Diane S. King and Paula Greisen
1999	Ed Ramey	2013	Kevin Paul
2000	Bruce Sattler	2014	Laura Rovner
2003	Lino Lipinsky	2016	Gail Johnson
2005	Mary Hoagland and Don Hoagland	2021	Hans Meyer
2008	Maria Liu and David Wymore		

### Martha Radetsky Award

The Martha Radetsky Award is named for a former ACLU of Colorado board member who dedicated her life to racial justice and civil liberties. This award is presented to those special people who have given years of exceptional service to the ACLU of Colorado and the cause of civil liberties. The recipients of this award often demonstrate their dedication to civil liberties through other organizations and activities in addition to their outstanding efforts for the ACLU. Presentation of the Martha Radetsky award gives us a chance to thank the people who have made this organization so successful. This coveted award is not awarded annually, but rather when the ACLU of Colorado finds it appropriate to recognize outstanding dedication.

1996 Greg Eurich 2000 Martha Sattler 2006 Arlette Baer 2014 Bob Connelly

## Larry Tajiri Media Award

The Larry Tajiri Media Award is named for the late Larry Tajiri, a former Denver Post columnist, staunch First Amendment supporter, and writer and editor for Pacific Citizen, an internment camp newspaper for Japanese Americans. This coveted award is not awarded annually, but rather when the ACLU of Colorado finds it appropriate to recognize outstanding media work on behalf of furthering civil liberties in Colorado.

Larry T	ajiri, Ed Stein, Gene Amole		
1997	KBDI Channel 12	2007	Michael E. Keefe
1998	Dani Newsum	2017	Susan Greene
2001	Reggie Rivers	2018	Chuck Plunkett and Dave Krieger
		2019	The Durango Herald
		2021	Sonia Gutierrez, Lori Lizarraga, Kristen Aguirre